Geographic location and administrative division of Bryansk region

Bryansk region features a favorable transport and geographical location being at the intersection of major traffic arteries (the Moscow – Kiev, St. Petersburg – Kharkov – Rostov, Oryol – Vitebsk highways) in the western part of the European part of Russia.

The area of the region is 34,857 sq. km.

Bryansk region is part of the Central Federal district. It borders on two regions of Belarus (Gomel region to the west, Mogilev region to the northwest), two regions of Ukraine (Chernigov and Sumy regions) to the south and four regions of the Russian Federation (Oryol region to the east, Kursk region to the southeast, Smolensk region to the north, Kaluga region to the northeast.

The region is pierced by five important trunk railways connecting it with Poland, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, the Baltic States and the CIS.

Bryansk region consists of 289 municipal entities: 27 municipalities possessing the status of municipal districts, 6 urban districts, 30 urban settlements and 226 rural settlements.

The administrative capital of Bryansk region is Bryansk city.